Chai Tea

I love coffee. I love the taste, the smell, the way it manages to save me from becoming a zombie halfway through the day… my love for coffee ran deep y’all.

Ran yes, past tense – no I didn’t mix up my tenses!

To my absolute horror, my body is failing me lately and somehow has decided to not be okay with the consumption of coffee (I hate ageing). But it is hard to transition from having 5 cups of coffee a day to letting go of it all together. I have had to experiment with other caffeine induced beverages to soothe my aching soul (I do enjoy being over dramatic!).

Anyway, my point is I have started loving chai tea, not that silly chai lattes or the tea bags they serve up but the good stuff, which I have discovered is really hard to come across (for those of you living in Melbourne, check out The School of Life Cafe , Vegie Bar and Alimentari – they do an AMAZING job with their chai teas and just quietly their food is also pretty incredible!).

If you are like me and you want to brew your own Chai, then read on 🙂 Also, this is the easiest thing to do and I’m being slack but this week has been a busy one, SOZ.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp of fennel seeds
  • 8 cardamon pods (I love cardamon but if you don’t maybe add less)
  • 6-8 cloves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/4 inch ginger root (slice this really thinly)
  • 1/4 tsp black peppercorns
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 7 cups of water
  • 2-3 bags of black tea
  • 1 1/2 cups soy milk (my body has also decided to be lactose intolerant so…but also soy chai tastes so much better than regular chai)
  • Honey

Method:

  • Add all the spices to the water and bring to boil, then let the mixture simmer for about 10 minutes.
  • Add the tea bags and bring the water to boil again.
  • Add in the milk and let the tea steep fro about five minutes before serving.
  • Add honey to taste

* Make sure you have a good strainer 😀

So, this was a super trial and error process ( the first batch was pretty much toothpaste flavoured tea) but I hope it comes out well for you!

x

S

Leave a Reply

