But you don’t have an accent…

***A conversation during a Political Science tutorial (I can’t make this shit up if I tried):

X: ” I don’t think its surprising that there is so much conflict and poverty in Asia and the Pacific, I mean black people are just not biologically able to function in a civilised society, they just don’t know how to do it…”

***Awkward conversation with my college roommate:

X: “I bloody HATE international students…*insert some vague racist comment which I have tried to block from my memory*”

Me: “umm…this is really uncomfortable”

X: “No but I’m not talking about you, you speak English – you aren’t an international student…you’re normal”

***While working at a Mexican fast food joint:

Customer: “Oh how cute, ARE – YOU – MEXICAN ?”

Me: “Um no, I’m from Sri Lanka”

Customer: “Oh that’s just weird…”

***Speaking of Mexicans; a story regaled to me by one of my friends:

X: “So are you Australian?”

Friend: “No, I’m Mexican” (sidebar she doesn’t work in a Mexican restaurant- what a shocker!)

X: “Oh wow, so what’s your name?”

Friend: “*insert generic Anglo name*”

X: “No but what is your actual name?”

Friend: “*insert generic Anglo name*”

X: “But what is your Mexican name?”

Friend: “*insert generic Anglo name*”

X: ” Oh how disappointing”

dilbert-cartoon-shit

Leave a Reply

