Hello Again

new-day

When I was younger I took solace in writing – I pretty much documented ever little detail of my life and I spent hours trying my hand at writing short stories, poems, songs what have you. But somewhere along the way to becoming a “grown up” I became more critical of my own attempts at self expression and I guess over time just stopped writing. “Its not good enough…I need to be better before people can read this…I don’t have anything interesting to say” (ugh!). But I don’t want to be tangled up in this web of insecurities anymore – I want to find my own voice and not be so afraid of being judged.

That is why I started this blog (and enrolled in WordPress’ Blogging University).

So I want to challenge myself to find inspiration everyday and write my story without over thinking and being over critical of myself. Actually, one of the readings recommended by Blogging U for today’s post sums up what my resolution quite well;

“Perfectionism is a mean, frozen form of idealism, while messes are the artist’s true friend. What people somehow (inadvertently, I’m sure) forgot to mention when we were children was that we need to make messes in order to find out who we are and why we are here — and, by extension, what we’re supposed to be writing.”

X

S

9 thoughts on “Hello Again

Leave a Reply

